Tess’s BJJ Training Week 4 – part 2


white belt

Wednesday

Woke up this morning feeling great! I trained a client this morning and we did four small jogs. I haven’t jogged for years and I surprisingly found it quite easy.

Did my 3rd strength program – power cleans, barbell squats, double kettlebell front squats and calf raises. Last set of cleans was a bit heavy couldn’t quite get the technique right. Squats felt good, the kettlebell squats still hurt like a MOFO but I smashed through them. The first set is always the mental challenge, the second set I tell myself off for being a sook and then the last set I’m happy because it’s the last one. Didn’t feel faint today, a little light headed from the strain and holding my breath but my first breakfast got me through the workout.

Can’t wait for BJJ tonight, it’s the last night to train with the AMMA Team before they head off over east for the comps.

Feeling really tired today. Had a bit of a late night 10.30pm, that is too late for me, I am an 8hr sleep gal. Been pretty busy with clients and have a busy afternoon.

I was knackered driving to BJJ tonight but once technique started I felt better. I partnered up with Liz and Tyrone again. We practiced guard armbars, sweeps and triangles. I like all these moves, just need to remember them when I am rolling and practice, practice, practice. Tonight I had four rolls, again feeling really slow but still lots of fun.

Had a big chat to Darcina about my breakfalls and how they are going from bad to worse. She showed me a couple other variations so I wouldn’t have to land hard on my shoulder. She told me I needed to learn to relax more. She said I need to find a happy medium between tension and relaxation while doing them. If I am too stiff I will land hard, if I am too loose I will land awkwardly. Like all things with martial arts, as well as kettlebells – if you are completely tense through the whole swing action you will get tired really quickly and have a higher risk of injury. More breakfall practice for me!!

Day Schedule

Wake up – 5.10am

1st Breakfast 5.30am Protein porridge

Train Client – 6.00-7.00am

My workout 7.30-8.10am – power cleans, barbell squats, kettlebell front squats, calf raises

2nd Breakfast 8.45am – Toasted breakfast wrap (contains 2 eggs scrambled, spinach & mushrooms)

Lunch 12.30pm – chicken breast, chopped up veggies and rice

Mid arvo 3pm – protein shake – this was too much, I will find another way to get some protein in me

BJJ Training 7.00-8.40pm

Dinner 9.15pm – protein shake (milk, yoghurt, protein powder, banana)

Crashed in bed – 9.45pm

Thursday

One of my new favourite day of the week! Feeling good today!

Team AMMA flew out to Melbourne today to compete at the comps this weekend. Liz, Tyrone, Ash, Jed, Tim and of course Coach Adam, really strong team – there will be a few medals coming home for sure. Good luck guys!!

Today in class we had Rory coaching. Rory is very skilled brown belt, it was great to attend his class. I partnered up with Tino again – I really like Tino he always has great tips to pass over plus he is a great guy. We drilled high mount half guard sweeps, in theory easy but once you put them into practice it is very hard. For each roll today we had to stay in this position, I would start off in the bottom position and it was my job to sweep my partner over, my partners job was to not let it happen. Once the round was over we would swap roles. I really struggled to move my opponent when I was on the bottom and when I was on top I was so light the guys could move me really easy. We did 6 six of this and I was completely knackered afterwards. I wasn’t very good at it but it was a good experience. When I was doing a round with Tino I had a light bulb moment. I was trying to sweep him and I had to rock back and forth before I was able to sweep him. He said to me that 90% of the time when rolling you end up scrambling, technique does come into it but also a lot of scrambling. I am so anal when it comes to technique and while rolling with someone I will be thinking about how everything has to be perfect in its place before I can execute the submission – by the time I finish thinking the person has moved and I have lost it all together. Need to think less, scramble more and just go for it!

Driving home after class I was so tired. I couldn’t be bothered eating but thought I better force something down, had a shower and the slept for 45mins AWESOME!!!

Woke up feeling heaps better, I slammed down a protein shake and headed back to the club. I ran our first beginners skill kettlebell class which was heaps of fun.

I then jumped in the BJJ class. Nathan (black belt) was running it tonight, he is incredible at BJJ , he moves very well and his skills are mind blowing. Tonight we touched base on the things that we covered on Tuesday night. I partnered up with Matt, he is also great (check out my interview with him) Matt is the first person to come shake your hand, and the first person to help you out with technique plus he is generally and all time nice guy.

We practiced side control, under hook to guard, pass guard, back to side control and a few other things thrown in. Really good class, I picked up some great tips.

Rolling tonight I had 7 rolls, a couple of new people who I haven’t rolled with before which is always interesting. I find rolling new people to the club they are always so gung-ho and you just have to weather the storm until they wear themselves out or the buzzer goes.

Raoul has been helping me with what to do when someone goes turtle on you and how to either get them on their side or get their back.

Rolled with Ryan for the first time in ages he is a great, and a tough blue belt. He helped me with securing a triangle while he tried passing my guard.

You know there are some small things in life that just makes you go ahhhhhhh….no it’s not what you are thinking. Tonight I had two ahhhh moments the first jumping in the shower after training tonight; it felt so good, the second was jumping into bed it was so comfortable – my mattress and pillows felt extra soft tonight.

Day Schedule

Wake up – 4.30am

1st Breakfast 4.45am protein porridge

Open gym 5.45am

2nd Breakfast 7.15am – grilled chicken, chopped veggies, rice

Coffee 11am

BJJ Training 12.00-1pm

Lunch 2pm – can of tuna a beans (not the best)

Nap 3.00-3.45pm

Snack 4.15pm protein shake

Run Kettlebell class 5-6pm

BJJ Beginners Class 6-7pm

Rolling 7-7.50pm

Dinner 8.30pm – Protein shake

Crashed in bed – 10.30pm

Leave a comment

Filed under BJJ, Training, Uncategorized

Leave a comment