Tess’s BJJ Training; Week 3 – Part 2


white belt

Wednesday

So tired, would have enjoyed a couple more hours sleep. Body feels good though, no aches or pains.

Had my leg work out this morning. It was hard the last set of barbell squats were shit, lacking confidence in my strength and I think I need to get used to my new weightlifting shoes too. I’m used to training is complete flat shoes. I did handle the double kettlebell squats better today, still painful but not as bad as last week. The last set I felt quite faint, not because it was hard – I think it was because I had a lack of food in my body. The protein shake I had last night wasn’t enough to get me through my session this morning. I will have a banana before my early morning training sessions from now on. I really need to find the happy balance with my nutrition, it worries me having protein shakes at night, I don’t want it to be stored as fat, I will have to monitor myself carefully.

I have come to the conclusion that I am lazy! – anything over 5 reps annoy me. My favourite number for reps is 3, it maybe a coincidence that it is my favourite number in general but I do believe 3 is a good number to complete reps. I would rather go heavy with less reps, than light with lots of reps.

Have BJJ tonight at 7pm, looking forward to it even though I am feeling pretty tired.

At the moment I am waiting at Coffee Pump for my breaky to be cooked, I can’t wait to eat it.

Breakfast wrap was awesome today, I inhaled it!

So tired looking forward to bed tonight, have a busy afternoon, which is good to keep me moving.

I am starting to feel better, I was so tired earlier to the point where I felt hung over, and my head felt foggy couldn’t concentrate and was really struggling. I sweated last night heaps, not only at training but also sleeping (was hot again last night and I was too tired to get up to put the AC on) I put some Gatorade in my water, it has cleared the fogginess away and I am finding it is picking me up. I think I just needed to get some electrolytes back into me as well as some salt and water.

Wasn’t feeling to good this afternoon, I think the beef salad I had for lunch didn’t agree with me. I got to get my shit together and make my own salads so I know what is in them. By the time I got to training my tummy was quite tender. Did some cool chokes in technique, partnered up with Liz and Tyrone (both blue belts). Tyrone is another machine, he is great to roll with, he has extraordinary talent and he is super, super strong. I only had a couple rolls tonight one with Liz and one with Ash. Both smashed me!

Everyone seemed quiet and tired tonight, there is some big comps coming up soon. We have a team heading over to Melbourne next week and in March has some local comps.

Early to bed for me tonight – have two early morning starts the next couple of days and I still need to get a few more training sessions in.

Day Schedule

Wake up – 5.00am

Train Client – 6.00-7.00am

My workout 7.20-8.10am – power cleans, barbell squats, kettlebell front squats, calf raises

Breakfast 8.40am – Toasted breakfast wrap (contains 2 eggs scrambled, spinach & mushrooms) plus a long black with a splash of milk

Lunch 3pm – chicken cabbage salad & beef veggie salad & grapes

BJJ Training 7.00-8.30pm

Dinner 9pm – lamb chops and veggies

Crashed in bed 9.50pm

Thursday

This morning was overcast and a bit cold – a cool 17degrees.

Headed to the gym early, I have swapped shifts with another trainer. I will be opening Thurs & Fri instead of Tues and Fri. That way I will have two short days at the end of the week and I can get some extra sleeping time on Thurs afternoons 🙂

Day off from strength training today, which is good because I have two BJJ sessions, one at lunch time and one in the evening.

Great class at lunch time, we practiced sweeps. I don’t use sweeps very often; actually at all I’m not comfortable doing them and really want to master them. Had two rolls which were a lot of fun.

I think I’m going to love Thursday’s; I finish work at 11am, train at AMMA 12pm, do some food shopping, make myself some lunch, have a nap then head back to the AMMA for 6pm class. That is a good day!!

Night class was heaps of fun, I partnered up with Ash. We went over the sweeps again, one of the sweeps I just couldn’t get, more practice for me. Had about 8-9 rolls tonight, they were all great. Depends on who I roll with, I feel I am moving better and starting to go for more submissions. Rolled with Reece (blue belt), first time in ages, that was really cool.

We had a great stretch after class.

Day Schedule

Wake up 4.30am

Open gym 5.45am

Breakfast 7.15am –oats soaked in soy milk, four dates and one banana, cuppa tea

BJJ Training 12.00-1pm

Lunch 2pm – Chicken, steamed veggies, rice, avocado (was awesome lunch!)

Nap 3.30-4.30pm

BJJ Beginners Class 6-7pm

Rolling 7-8pm

Dinner 8.45pm – Protein shake

Crashed in bed 9.30pm

Leave a comment

Filed under BJJ, Health & Wellbing, Training, Uncategorized

Leave a comment